Construction of an incinerator for Biomedical Waste in Manhekarka, Nepal

About the Project

What's the problem?
Usually, infectious hospital waste in Nepal is burned in pits by pouring flammable liquids over it. The temperatures reached by this method are not high enough to sterilize the waste completely. In most cases, leftover waste will remain. This waste along with its germs and bacteria will be distributed around the hospital property from wind and animals. In the case of rain, the ground water may become contaminated as well. All of this increases the risk of infection for patients, hospital staff, visitors and neighbours. Technology without Borders faces this issue and provides a solution.
How to solve it?
Based on knowledge and social connections from a previous project in Nepal (Disposal of Biomedical Waste at the Outreach Clinic in Bolde, Nepal), this project is to counstruct an incinerator for burning biomedical waste in the township of Manhekarka. We will use the well-tried two chamber incinerator model of TeoG. Due to the two combustion chambers as well as the chimney with a height of 4 to 5m, constant temperatures of more than 800°C will be reached (peak temperatures up to 1050°C). As a result, the biomedical waste is sterilized, almost no carbon black and toxic gases arise (dioxin window between 300 and 600°C) and the waste volume is minimized. The ash can be burried without any concerns. The incinerators used in the previous project provided a burn rate of up to 20kg/h per incinerator. The project will be implemented by Luca Frericks and Henning Risse and we keep you up to date on this site. Hope you enjoyed following along.
Information

Project Leader

Henning Risse


Regional Groups

  • Erlangen

Project members

Luca Theresa Frericks
Arne Bruns
Jonas Böhm

Project Category

      Waste

Timespan

February 2020 - now

Project stage

current


News

The project is done and Corona calls us home

image

The project is done and Corona calls us home

The last days have been very long and a lot has happened. From Tuesday to Thursday the construction went into the final phase and now we look a little bit proud of the finished work. The motivated welders arrived…

Holi Hallelujah

image

Holi Hallelujah

As there is no work here on Saturdays, it was quite fitting that this was the rainiest day of our stay in Manekharka so far. Therefore we could not really use the day to explore the area. &nbsp We…

Almost Nepali

image

Almost Nepali

On Thursday after lunch the impossible became possible. A huge chimney pipe has found its way from Kathmandu to us. Motivated by the fact that only one part is missing, we fought our way through the seemingly never-ending construction…

Break time

image

Break time

After the success of the last days, yesterday and today we had to wait. The material seems not to have been in stock in Kathmandu and so we hope that it will find its way to us soon. Yesterday…

And suddenly there was a wall

image

And suddenly there was a wall

Yesterday, everything happened in a flash. The last three layers of the inner wall of the incinerator needed only three and a half hours. Now, with German precision, the heart of the furnace is standing. And the bricklayers could…

Bau eines Verbrennungsofen für biomedizinische Abfälle in Manhekarka, Nepal

Über das Projekt

Problematik
In Nepal wird infektiöser Krankenhausmüll häufig in Gruben geworfen, mit brennbaren Flüssigkeiten übergossen und angezündet. Die so erzeugten Temperaturen reichen nicht, um den Müll vollständig zu sterilisieren. Meist verbleiben unverbrannte Abfallreste. Diese werden durch freilaufende Tiere und Wind rund um die Gruben verteilt. Regen spühlt Keime und Bakterien ins Grundwasser. Durch diese infektiösen Verunreinigungen steigt das Ansteckungsrisiko für Patienten, Personal, Besucher und Nachbarn betroffener Krankenhäuser. Technik ohne Grenzen (TeoG) möchte dieser Problematik entgegentreten.
 
Projektinhalt
Basierend auf Wissen und Kontakten aus dem Vorgängerprojekt (Entsorgung biomedizinischer Abfälle eines Krankenhausausenpostens in Nepal) wird in diesem Projekt ein Müllverbrennungsöfen am Krankenhausausenposten in Manekharka errichtet. Es handelt sich um einen bewährter Zweikammerofen. Durch die beiden Brennkammern sowie dem ca. 5m hohen Schornstein können nachweislich dauerhafte Verbrennungstemperaturen von über 800°C (Spitzentemperaturen bis zu 1050°C) erreicht werden. Hierdurch ist eine sichere Dekontaminierung des Mülls gewährleistet, die Bildung von Ruß und toxischen Gasen wird minimiert (Dioxin-Fenster zwischen 300°C und 600°C) und das Müllvolumen wird erheblich verringert. Ein anschließendes Vergraben der Asche ist gefahrlos möglich. Verbrennungsraten von ca. 15kg/h pro Ofen werden erreicht. Das Projekt wird im Februar/ März 2020 von Luca Frericks und Henning Risse durchgeführt und wir freuen uns euch auf dieser Seite auf dem Laufenden zu halten!
Information

Projektleitung

Avatar

Henning Risse

Regionalgruppen

  • Erlangen

Projektmitglieder

Luca Theresa Frericks
Arne Bruns
Jonas Böhm


Projektkategorie

      Müll

Zeitraum

Februar 2020 - März 2020

Projektphase

abgeschlossen


Aktuelles

Das Projekt ist geschafft und Corona ruft uns nach Hause

image

Das Projekt ist geschafft und Corona ruft uns nach Hause

Die letzten Tage waren sehr lang und es ist viel passiert. Von Dienstag bis Donnerstag ging der Bau in die Endphase und nun blicken wir ein kleinwenig Stolz auf das vollendete Werk. Die motivierten Schweißer kamen schon um halb…

Holi Halleluja

image

Holi Halleluja

Da samstags hier nicht gearbeitet wird, passte es ganz gut, dass dies der bisher regnerischsten Tag unseres Aufenthalt in Manekharka war. Dadurch konnten wir den Tag auch nicht wirklich nutzen, um die Gegend weiter zu erkunden. &nbsp Das holten…

Holi

Dal Bhat

image

Dal Bhat

Am Donnerstag nach dem Mittagessen ist das Unmögliche möglich geworden. Ein riesiges Schornsteinrohr hat seinen Weg aus Katmandu zu uns gefunden. Motiviert von der Tatsache, dass nur noch ein Teil fehlt, kämpften wir uns trotz kleiner Regenschauer weiter durch…

Die Kränu