Environmentally friendly disposal of biomedical waste in Beni, Nepal

About the Project

In September of 2017 two members of the RG Munich traveled to Beni to realize the regional groups second hospital waste project in Nepal. In cooperation with local partners an incinerator was built successfully at the Myagdi District Hospital, accompanied by trainings for the hospital staff.

Beni is a town with a population of nearly 30.000, located roughly 200 kilometers northwest of Nepal’s capital Kathmandu. Like in most parts of Nepal the waste was thrown into a pit and burned in an open fire before. Especially if its infectious medical waste that is burned this poses a high risk to the health of patients and hospital staff alike. For the hospital administration this problem was on top of the list of challenges the hospital faces, but previous attempts to tackle it were unsuccessful.

The incinerator design was established in various previous projects by Technology without Borders. It was built in cooperation with local partners and out of materials that could exclusively be bought in Beni, with the only exception being the fire-proof bricks which had to be imported from India. The correct use of the incinerator was shown in hands-on burning trainings to several of the staff members.

For the incinerator to be operated efficiently long-term there must be a working waste separation system in the hospital. This system was introduced and established in interactive workshops for the hospital staff where the theory was explained as well as how it should be executed on a daily basis. These workshops are planned to be continued in the future and will be held by one of the staff members.

Thanks goes to all the donors who made the project possible as well as to the wonderful Nepalese people we had the chance to work with.

Antonia Schätz & Maximilian Meybrunn

Gallerie

Information

Project Leader

antonia.schaetz


Regional Groups

  • Munich

Project members

Antonia Schätz
Kyrill Kristöfl
Karoline Kadletz
Joram Gruber
Maximilian Meybrunn

Project Category

      Waste

Timespan

September 2017 - October 2017

Project stage

finished


News

No entries.

Umweltgerechte Entsorgung von biomedizinischen Abfällen in Beni, Nepal

Über das Projekt

Im September 2017 reisten zwei Mitglieder der Regionalgruppe München nach Beni um das zweite Projekt der Regionalgruppe zum Thema „umweltgerechte Entsorgung von biomedizinischen Abfällen“ in Nepal umzusetzen. In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern wurde erfolgreich ein Verbreunnungsofen am Bezirkskrankenhaus von Myagdi gebaut. Begleitet wurde der Bau von Schulungen für das Krankenhauspersonal.

Beni ist eine kleine Stadt mit ungefähr 30.000 Einwohnern und liegt circa 200 Kilometer nordwestlich von Nepals Hauptstadt Kathmandu. Wie in den meisten Teilen Nepals wurde der Müll zuvor in ein Erdloch geworfen und anschließend in einem offenen Feuer verbrannt. Besonders beim Verbrennen von infektiösem Krankenhausmüll stellt dies eine hohe Gefahr für die Patienten und Mitarbeiter des Krankenhauses dar. Für die Krankenhausverwaltung stand dieses Problem ganz oben auf der Liste von Herausforderungen, mit den das Krankenhaus sich konfrontiert sah. Bisherige Versuche dieses Problem anzugehen waren nicht erfolgreich gewesen.

Das Design des Verbrennungsofens wurde bereits in mehreren vorherigen Projekten von Technik ohne Grenzen eingeführt. Der Ofen wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern gebaut. Mit einer Ausnahme konnten alle Materialien direkt Beni beschafft werden, lediglich die feuerfesten Ziegelsteine mussten aus Indien importiert werden. Die richtige Anwendung des Verbrennungsofens wurde im Anschluss in mehreren praktischen Trainings gezeigt, an denen etliche unterschiedliche Mitarbeiter teilgenommen haben.

Um den Verbrennungsofen effizient und langfristig betreiben zu können muss ein funktionierendes Mülltrennungssystem am Krankenhaus vorhanden sein. Dieses System wurde in interaktiven Workshops eingeführt. Den Mitarbeitern wurde sowohl die Theorie erklärt als auch gezeigt wie das System im Alltag angewendet werden soll. Es ist geplant das diese Workshops auch in Zukunft fortgeführt werden.

Unser Dank gilt allen Spendern die das Projekt möglich gemacht haben sowie den wundervollen Nepalesen mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten durften.

Antonia Schätz & Maximilian Meybrunn

Gallerie

Information

Projektleitung

antonia.schaetz


Regionalgruppen

  • München

Projektmitglieder

Antonia Schätz
Kyrill Kristöfl
Karoline Kadletz
Joram Gruber
Maximilian Meybrunn

Projektkategorie

      Müll

Zeitraum

September 2017 - Oktober 2017

Projektphase

abgeschlossen


Aktuelles

No entries.