Disposal of Biomedical Waste at the Outreach Clinic in Bolde, Nepal

About the Project

What's the problem?
Usually, infectious hospital waste in Nepal is burned in pits by pouring flammable liquids over it. The temperatures reached by this method are not high enough to sterilize the waste completely. In most cases, leftover waste will remain. This waste along with its germs and bacteria will be distributed around the hospital property from wind and animals. In the case of rain, the ground water may become contaminated as well. All of this increases the risk of infection for patients, hospital staff, visitors and neighbours. Technology without Borders faces this issue and provides a solution. How to solve it?
Based on knowledge and social connections from a previous project in Nepal (Environmentally friendly disposal of biomedical waste at the hospitals in Nepal), this project set out to counstruct an incinerator for burning biomedical waste in the township of Bolde. We used the well-tried two chamber incinerator model of TeoG. Due to the two combustion chambers as well as the chimney with a height of 4 to 5m, constant temperatures of more than 800°C are verifiably reached (peak temperatures up to 1050°C). As a result, the biomedical waste is sterilized, almost no carbon black and toxic gases arise (dioxin window between 300 and 600°C) and the waste volume is minimized. The ash can be burried without any concerns. The incinerators used in the previous project provided a burn rate of up to 20kg/h per incinerator.

The project was implemented by Henning Risse and Arne Bruns and we keept you up to date on this site. Hope you enjoyed following along.

Stay posted!

Gallerie

Information

Donation Status

100%


Project Leader

arne.bruns


Regional Groups

  • Erlangen

Project members

Henning Risse
Lukas Köferl
Jonas Böhm

Project Category

      Waste

Timespan

February 2019 - March 2019

Project stage

finished


News

17

image

17

Sorry, this entry is only available in German.

15th & 16th March – Training and Handover

image

15th & 16th March – Training and Handover

It’s all yours now! This sentence could finally be said today in a small ceremony at the incineration site here in Bolde. Yesterday started with a small function to honorably say goodbye our workers and thank them for their…

13th & 14th March – First Light

image

13th & 14th March – First Light

Finish Spurt – Direct translation from german meaning the last effort just before reaching the finish line The last two days have been exactly that. We constructed the last metal parts, build a door for the waste yard, raised…

12th March – Coronation and Wedding

image

12th March – Coronation and Wedding

Bricks were laid, steel cut and welded, plans made – all for this special day. We started of by visiting the local stupa to view the mountains and take in the fresh mountain air. We then carried down the…

10th & 11th March – Eight Hours of Work and a leaning towards precision

image

10th & 11th March – Eight Hours of Work and a leaning towards precision

The last two days have been full eight to nine hour work days filled with new parts, modified designs and varying degrees of needed precision. The last one gave us a suprise though. After taking extreme care while welding…

Entsorgung biomedizinischer Abfälle eines Krankenhausausenpostens in Nepal

Über das Projekt

Problematik
In Nepal wird infektiöser Krankenhausmüll häufig in Gruben geworfen, mit brennbaren Flüssigkeiten übergossen und angezündet. Die so erzeugten Temperaturen reichen nicht, um den Müll vollständig zu sterilisieren. Meist verbleiben unverbrannte Abfallreste. Diese werden durch freilaufende Tiere und Wind rund um die Gruben verteilt. Regen spühlt Keime und Bakterien ins Grundwasser. Durch diese infektiösen Verunreinigungen steigt das Ansteckungsrisiko für Patienten, Personal, Besucher und Nachbarn betroffener Krankenhäuser. Technik ohne Grenzen (TeoG) möchte dieser Problematik entgegentreten.
Projektinhalt
Basierend auf Wissen und Kontakten aus dem Vorgängerprojekt (Entsorgung biomedizinischer Abfälle an drei Krankenhäusern in Nepal) wurde in diesem Projekt ein Müllverbrennungsöfen am Krankenhausausenposten in Bolde errichtet. Es handelt sich um einen bewährter Zweikammerofen. Durch die beiden Brennkammern sowie dem ca. 5m hohen Schornstein können nachweislich dauerhafte Verbrennungstemperaturen von über 800°C (Spitzentemperaturen bis zu 1050°C) erreicht werden. Hierdurch ist eine sichere Dekontaminierung des Mülls gewährleistet, die Bildung von Ruß und toxischen Gasen wird minimiert (Dioxin-Fenster zwischen 300°C und 600°C) und das Müllvolumen wird erheblich verringert. Ein anschließendes Vergraben der Asche ist gefahrlos möglich. Verbrennungsraten von ca. 15kg/h pro Ofen werden erreicht.

Das Projekt wurde im März 2019 von Henning Risse und Arne Bruns durchgeführt und wir freuten uns euch auf dieser Seite auf dem Laufenden zu halten!

Stay posted!

Gallerie

Information

Spendenstatus

100%


Projektleitung

arne.bruns


Regionalgruppen

  • Erlangen

Projektmitglieder

Henning Risse
Lukas Köferl
Jonas Böhm

Projektkategorie

      Müll

Zeitraum

Februar 2019 - März 2019

Projektphase

abgeschlossen


Aktuelles

17.03. & 18.03. In Hamburg sagt man Tschüss!

image

17.03. & 18.03. In Hamburg sagt man Tschüss!

Früh morgens am Sonntag, schnappte Arne seinen Rucksack und trat die abenteuerliche, siebenstündige Busfahrt von Bolde nach Kathmandu an, um am nächsten Tag Richtung Langtangtal trekken zu gehen. Die restlichen Aufgaben fürs Projekt, d.h. ein weiteren Review und nochmal…

15.03. & 16.03. Zertifikatzeremonie

image

15.03. & 16.03. Zertifikatzeremonie

Für die Übergabe der Zertifikate für die Arbeiter, wurde vom Personal eine kleine Zeremonie aufgebaut. Hierbei haben der Medical Officer, Arne und ein Schweißer ein paar Worte über den Verlauf und Ergebnis des Projekts gesagt. Anschließend bekam jeder Arbeiter…

13.03. & 14.03. Uns geht ein Licht auf

image

13.03. & 14.03. Uns geht ein Licht auf

Wir sind auf der Zielgeraden! Es stand noch an kleinere Metallarbeiten für den Ofen zu finalisieren und alle Metallteile sowie die Dachkonstruktion in Burgunderrot angestrichen. Währenddessen hat der andere Schweißer eine Tür aus Stahl mit Wellblech für die Kammer…

12.03. Die krönende Hochzeit

image

12.03. Die krönende Hochzeit

Erste Tätigkeit auf der Baustelle war die Krönung des Ofens, d.h. feuerfeste Zementschicht auf den Ofen und Top-Frame planar auf die Schicht. Die Feierlichkeiten gingen weiter mit der Hochzeit (Zusammenführen von Motor mit der Karosse im Automobilbau): Bei uns…

10.03. & 11.03. Präziser als wir

image

10.03. & 11.03. Präziser als wir

Mit nur einem Mauerer vollendeten wir die Mauer von der Müllkammer, welche noch eine Tür bekommen soll und von außen verputzt wird. Die Schweißer legten am Sonntag wieder ein hohes Tempo vor und so konnten wir die Stütze für…