Water for Eritrea

About the Project

Project description

The small country in the Horn of Africa is extremely poor and predominantly agricultural. Especially rural areas have problems providing a year-round supply of sufficiently clean water, which is crucial for further development. As more and more traditional wells dry up during the dry season, the walks to the nearest watering holes become longer and longer. In cooperation with the organization ArcheMed e.V., which has been operating for many years in Eritrea, this infrastructure project is planned to provide clean water for a village.

The project region is located in Begu Valley, approximately 100 km from the capital Asmara. There are a few villages in this area leading a simple, agricultural life. For some impressions of the project region, here is a video from the expedition: https://vimeo.com/116485353

During our first expedition in April 2014 we investigated several suitable locations suitable for the construction of a water supply. Thereby, one location on a hillside appeared to be specifically suitable for the construction of sand storage dams. In September 2015 the reconditioning of a borehole resulted in a temporary relieve of the water scarcity. The long term goal however is the construction of a sand storage dam to ensure a safe and sustainable water supply. The planned dam will be therefore approximately 8 meters high and have a sufficient water reservoir for a yearlong water supply of the village. The construction of the infrastructure is accompanied by an intense knowledge exchange between local and German engineers and students as well as a wide range of workshops in the field of water, sanitation and hygiene for the local community. It is also them who perform the actual construction work together with the local engineers.

The start of the construction work was at the beginning of 2017, since then the construction continues step by step with every rain event. While the work for the wing walls will most likely be finished within summer 2019, the construction period for the centre part is highly dependent on rainfall and will last approximately until summer 2022. Thanks to the innovative construction method a maximum efficiency and longevity is reached. At the same time the dam is also already now functionally, though with less steps respectively, and providing an increasingly important contribution to the water supply of the community.

Thanks to your donations and a co-funding of the German BMZ until end of October 2018, roughly 80% of the overall construction volume has been completed. In order to finalize the project and finance the final meters, we are after the end of the BMZ-funding fully dependent on private funding.

We have already achieved a lot thanks to your support and we hope to complete also this last phase of the project now successfully together with you!

Gallerie

Information

Donation Status

95 % funded

123
donors

95 %
funded

4.965 €
missing


Project Leader

Reinhard d. L.

Regional Groups

  • Hamburg

Project members

alle Hamburger

Project Category

      Water

Timespan

July 2013 - now

Project stage

current


News

Foto Exhibition – Water projects in Eritrea and Uganda

image

Foto Exhibition – Water projects in Eritrea and Uganda

From the 2nd of July to the 28th of September we invite you to our photo exhibition and we want to celebrate this with a vernissage on Saturday the 7th of July at 4pm. Together with the Art Initiative…

Travel Report – Sand Storage Dams in Eritrea, September 2017

image

Travel Report – Sand Storage Dams in Eritrea, September 2017

Dear friends, In September 2017 we travelled to Eritrea to visit our project, and we want to share now our experiences and accomplishments with you. Upon arrival in the capital Asmara, we met with our project partners to discuss…

Video – Implementing a Sand Storage Dam – “Water for Eritrea”

image

Video – Implementing a Sand Storage Dam – “Water for Eritrea”

During our project journey in September 2017, Kai Gebel from Two Little Designers did a great short-clip giving a good overview of our work. Video and Copyright by Kai Gebel

Construction work started

image

Construction work started

Finally, after a lot of effort and untiring perseverance, the foundation has been laid and the construction work for the first stage of the sand storage dam has just started. We are very excited to share this moment of…

Good news – Ready to start!

image

Good news – Ready to start!

Dear Supporters, Dear Friends, we have good news: after quite some delay we finally got the approval for cement supply. This was an important hurdle to be taken for the project’s progress. For the scheduled start of construction work…

Wasser für Eritrea

Über das Projekt

Projektbeschreibung

 
Das kleine Land Eritrea am Horn von Afrika ist bitterarm und zu großen Teilen landwirtschaftlich geprägt. Die ganzjährige Versorgung mit ausreichend sauberem Wasser ist insbesondere im ländlichen Raum ein großes Problem und entscheidend für weitere Entwicklungen. Durch eine immer größer werdende Anzahl an in der Trockenzeit versiegenden traditionellen Brunnen, resultieren immer länger werdende Fußwege zur nächsten Wasserstelle. In Kooperation mit dem seit vielen Jahren in Eritrea tätigen Verein ArcheMed e.V. soll in diesem Infrastruktur-Projekt eine Wasserversorgung mit sauberem Wasser für ein Dorf geschaffen werden. 
 
Unsere Projektregion befindet sich im Begu Valley, ca. 100 km von der Hauptstadt Asmara entfernt. Hier siedeln mehrere Dörfer und führen ein einfaches, landwirtschaftliches Leben. Für Eindrücke aus der Projektregion, hier das Video der Erkundung: https://vimeo.com/116485353 
 
Während unserer Erkundung im April 2014 haben wir mehrere Standorte zur Errichtung einer Wasserversorgung erforscht. Dabei stach besonders ein am Hang gelegener Standort heraus, der sich gut zur Errichtung eines Sandspeicher-Dammes eignet. Durch Instandsetzung eines Bohrloches im September 2015 konnte die Wasserknappheit im Tal übergangsweise gelindert werden. Langfristiges Ziel ist die Errichtung eines Wasserspeichers, der eine gesicherte und ganzjährige Versorgung mit sauberem Wasser sicherstellen kann. Geplant ist dafür ein Sandspeicher-Damm mit insgesamt 8 Metern Höhe und genügend Stauvolumen um das gesamte Dorf mit Wasser zu versorgen. Der Bau der Infrastruktur wird begleitet von einem intensiven Wissensaustausch zwischen lokalen und deutschen Ingenieuren und Studenten, sowie vielfältigen Workshops im Bereich Wasser, Sanitär und Hygiene für die lokale Bevölkerung. Diese ist es auch, die die eigentliche Bautätigkeiten zusammen lokalen Ingenieuren vornimmt.

Baubeginn des Dammes war Anfang 2017, seitdem schreitet der Bau stufenweise mit jedem Regenereignis voran. Während die Arbeiten für die seitlichen Abschnitte des Damms aller Voraussicht nach noch im Sommer 2019 beendet sein werden, rechnen wir für den mittleren Teil aktuell mit einer Fertigstellung der letzten Stufe des Damms in etwa Mitte 2022. Durch die innovative Bauweise wird dabei eine maximale Effizienz und Langlebigkeit des Reservoirs sichergestellt. Gleichzeitig ist der Damm auch bereits jetzt, mit entsprechend weniger Stufen, funktionsfähig und liefert damit einen immer wertvoller werdenden Beitrag zur Wasserversorgung der Bevölkerung. 
 
Dank euren Spenden und einer Co-Finanzierung des BMZ bis Ende Oktober 2018 konnten wir etwa 80% des gesamten Bauvolumens fertigstellen. Um das Projekt abzuschließen und die letzten Meter zu finanzieren sind wir nach Ende der BMZ-Förderung nun vollständig auf private Spenden angewiesen.
 
Dank Eurer tatkräftigen Unterstützung sind wir bereits sehr weit gekommen. Wir hoffen, mit Euch nun auch den letzten Abschnitt erfolgreich zu absolvieren!

Gallerie

Information

Spendenstatus

95 % finanziert

121
Spender

95 %
finanziert

5.330 €
fehlen noch


Projektleitung

Reinhard d. L.

Regionalgruppen

  • Hamburg

Projektmitglieder

alle Hamburger

Projektkategorie

      Wasser

Zeitraum

Juli 2013 - heute

Projektphase

laufend


Aktuelles

Fotoausstellung – Wasserprojekte in Eritrea und Uganda

image

Fotoausstellung – Wasserprojekte in Eritrea und Uganda

Vom 2.7 bis zum 28.9 laden wir zu unserer Fotoausstellung ein und wollen das mit einer Vernissage am Samstag den 7.7 um 16:00 Uhr feiern. Gemeinsam mit der Kunstinitiative der Technischen Universität Hamburg stellen wir in 50 Bildern unsere…

Reisebericht – Sandspeicher Dämme in Eritrea, September 2017

image

Reisebericht – Sandspeicher Dämme in Eritrea, September 2017

Liebe Freunde, Im September 2017 haben wir uns wieder nach Eritrea aufgemacht, um unser Projekt zur Wasserversorgung vom Begu Valley aufzusuchen. Der direkte Kontakt ist für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung des Projektes essentiell. Jetzt möchten wir unsere Erfahrungen und die…

Video – Implementierung eines Sandspeicherdamms – “Wasser für Eritrea”

image

Video – Implementierung eines Sandspeicherdamms – “Wasser für Eritrea”

Während unserer Projektreise im September 2017 konnte Kai Gebel von Two Little Designers einen großartigen Kurzfilm zu unserer Arbeit vor Ort drehen. Video and Copyright by Kai Gebel

Die Baumaßnahmen haben begonnen

image

Die Baumaßnahmen haben begonnen

Endlich, nach langer Anstrengung und viel Ausdauer, wurde nun das Fundament für den Sandspeicher-Damm gelegt und die Bauarbeiten für die erste Stufe haben begonnen. Wir sind sehr glücklich über diesen Erfolg für das Projekt und freuen uns unglaublich den…

Gute Neuigkeiten – Bereit für den Start!

image

Gute Neuigkeiten – Bereit für den Start!

Liebe Freunde, liebe Unterstützer, wir haben erfreuliche Neuigkeiten: Nach einiger Verzögerung konnte eine Zusage für die Lieferung des erforderlichen Zementes eingeholt werden. Somit wurde eine wichtige Hürde für den Projektfortschritt bewältigt. Zum geplanten Baubeginn im letzten Jahr konnte der…